Luis Dorame and Clarence Williams

Quarterbacks Clarence Williams Jr. and Luis Dorame have received All-City recognition for their 2014 prep football seasons in which their teams — Sylmar and Monroe — reached the championship games in Divisions’ II and III.

Williams, a junior, was named the co-Player of the Year in Division II, along with Jericho Flowers of Hamilton High of Los Angeles. In leading Sylmar to an 11-3 record overall and the Valley Mission League championship, Williams completed 148 of 198 passes for 3,063 yards. He threw for 42 touchdowns and was intercepted only six times. He was also named the Valley Mission League MVP.

Sylmar was trying to win its first City football title since 1994. The Spartans, however, lost the Division II game to Hamilton, 58-30.

Dorame, a senior, was named the Division III offensive player of the year. He helped Monroe play in its first City football championship game since 1971 by completing 299 of 468 passes for 3,642 yards. Dorame also threw for 34 touchdowns, and was intercepted 16 times.

Monroe, 10-4 overall for its first winning season since 2007, lost the title game to Los Angeles High, 28-14.

Below are the listings of players who received All-City recognition in the three City divisions:

Division I

First team offense: Quarterback — Steve Williams (Garfield), P.J. Hurst (Palisades). Running back — Sean Riley (Narbonne), Joel Villarreal (Banning), Sterling Salguero (Birmingham), Darius Jones (Canoga Park). Linemen — Miles Herron (El Camino Real), Tahde Spratley (Carson), Dominic O’Brien (San Pedro), Justin Conde (Banning); John Salcedo (Roosevelt). Receiver — Kemontae Dafney (Venice), Marcus Walton (Crenshaw), Devon Cooper (Narbonne), Ikenna Ohaeri (Narbonne), J’son Overstreet (Arleta). Kicker — Ethan Erickson (Palisades).

Second team offense: Quarterback — Johnathan Porter (Arleta), Adam Blythe (El Camino Real). Running back — Tysean Hamilton (Canoga Park), Christian Serna (San Pedro), Ramses Hernandez (Fairfax), Adrian Hooper (Carson). Linemen — Alex Akingbulu (Narbonne), Tyler Castaneda (San Pedro), Romeo Soe Soe (Banning), Jonathan Gutierrez (South East), Joe Teofilo (Narbonne), Benjamin Fisaga-Seiuli (Carson). Tight end — Silas Tamali (Carson). Receiver — Herbert Acosta (Palisades), Martel Taylor (South East), Janson Navarrete (Banning), Ivan Vasquez (Arleta). Kicker — Christian Mills (San Pedro).

First team defense: Defensive back — Antonio Frazier (San Pedro), Ereon Nash (South East), Devonte King (Carson), Cleo Session (Garfield), Trayvon Bierra (Narbonne), Deshawn Littleton (Carson). Linebacker — Marco Gonzalez (Arleta), Chris Lauro (San Pedro), Joseph Silva (Garfield), Solomone Taufahema (Birmingham), Alec Simpson (Palisades). Linemen — Alex Evans (Taft), Aubrey Lovo (Dorsey), Kevin Gomez (Roosevelt), Manuapuava Tui-Enesi (Carson), Foster Dixon (Fairfax). Punter — Mario Ramirez (Roosevelt).

Second team defense: Defensive back — Marquis Williams (Garfield), Corie Railey (Dorsey), Dejon Jones (Venice), Jahlil Lipkin (Taft); Leon Stewart (Venice), Christian Michaels (San Pedro). Linebacker — Moryan Robertson (Carson), Cesar Ramirez (Roosevelt); Lawson Hall (Narbonne), Eric Flowers (Birmingham), Erik Aguilar (Arleta). Lineman — Derek Moore (Crenshaw), Trevor Taufahema (Birmingham), Christian Jackson (Carson), Tristen Chavarria (Garfield), Nahje Flowers (Dorsey). Punter — Brandon Heicklen (El Camino Real).

Division II

Offense: Quarterback — Armani Rogers (Hamilton), Albert Buenrostro (Lincoln). Running back — Marcus Gandy (Sylmar), Lavell Thompson (South Gate), Keyshawn Richards (Hamilton), Shonte Smith (Sylmar). Linemen — Nick Maldonado (San Fernando), Henry Diaz (Huntington Park), John Chan (Lincoln), Hugo Jimenez (University), Abel Quiroga (Chatsworth), Jacob Garcia (Granada Hills). Receiver — Danny Mendoza (Sylmar), Nick Jovanelly (Eagle Rock), Dakota Ridgeway (Lincoln), Eugene Ford (University), Russell Shaw (Hamilton). Kicker — Daniel Gutierrez (Granada Hills).

Defense: Defensive back — Brendan Barrett (Grant), Carter Otte (Verdugo Hills), Andrew Simpson (Sylmar), Albert Ramirez Jr., (Lincoln), Malik Martin (Sylmar), Tyrone Nelson (University), Rono Munoz (San Fernando). Linebacker — Raul Alegria (Eagle Rock), Gabriel Sanchez (Cleveland), Ta’Von Duker (University), Anthony Parker (Hamilton), Francisco Gallegos (South Gate). Linemen — German Valenzuela (Chatsworth), Antonio Olivares (South Gate), Cesar Bobadilla (Franklin), Louis Gonzales (Sylmar). Punter — Marco Alarcon (San Fernando).

Co-Player of the Year: Clarence Williams (Sylmar). Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Anthony Muse (Sylmar). Defensive Lineman of the Year:   .

Division III

Offense: Quarterback — Kayman Cureton (Los Angeles), Keenan Jones (View Park). Running back — Sheldon Arnold (Santee), Greg Johnson (Hawkins), Alex Shelton (Bernstein), Richard Smith (Los Angeles). Linemen — John Mercado (Bernstein), Jose Fragoso (Monroe), Brandon Bacon (Los Angeles), Sereno Reid (Marquez), David Salazar (Poly), Anthony Owens (Rancho Dominguez). Tight end — Anthony Reyes (Chavez). Receiver — Reese Rothenberg (Hollywood), Jalen Hall (Hawkins), David Flores (Monroe), Joseph Lewis (Hawkins), Daniel Bell (View Park).

Defense: Defensive back — Johnny Sarmiento (Contreras), Erik Diaz (Belmont), Julio Serrano (Panorama), Justin Rogers (Los Angeles), Justin Ibarra (Santee), Brandon Cannon (Rancho Dominguez), Carlos Robins (View Park). Linebacker — Walter Rosales (Monroe), Roberto Angulo (Sotomayor), Johnny Campos (Bernstein), Arthur Duarte (Wilson), Rodrigo Aguirre (Bernstein). Linemen — Rene Vasquez (Roybal), Jordy Gomez (Bernstein), Jerome Mitchell (Monroe), Justin Murray (View Park), Stanley Tavita (Rancho Dominguez), Ryan Calderon (Los Angeles).

Offensive Player of the Year: Luis Dorame (Monroe).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *