On Sunday, Nov. 2, the U.S. will end Daylight Saving Time for this calendar year, so don’t forget to turn back the clock.

At 2 a.m., the time will be reset back to 1 a.m., and the U.S. returns to Daylight Standard Time. Sunrise and sunset will be approximately an hour earlier than the day before. There should also be more light on this morning.

Starting Sunday, U.S. time zones are now Alaska Standard Time, Pacific Standard Time (PST), Mountain Standard Time (MST), Central Standard Time (CST), and Eastern Standard Time (EST).

Daylight Savings Time was first established in America in 1918, when U.S. officials adopted it to as a means to save energy and enable people to work longer hours in the daylight. There was an initial resistance to the change, however; when World War I ended, it was first used only seven months before Congress then repelled the idea of it again in 1919.

The Congressional action meant Daylight Savings Time was now an option within states and cities. Only a few states, including Rhode Island and Massachusetts, plus cities including New York, Chicago and Philadelphia carried on using it beyond 1919. It would not be imposed on American society again until 1942, when then President Franklin Roosevelt imposed a year round change, known as “Summer Time,” until Sept. 30, 1945.

Beyond 1945, there was still no nation-wide law passed governing Daylight Savings Time, states were again free to decide whether to observe it or not. But it this caused confusion, especially amongst travel companies, as well as such as television and radio. All of these different industries had to publish differing schedules dependent on where people lived and whether their state observed Daylight Savings Tim or not.

In 1966, Congress passed The Uniform Act requiring all states to observe Daylight Savings Time. Those states that did not want to then had to pass an individual state law.

According to spectrum-research.com, many nations observe some form of daylight savings time, but not all start and end it at the same times as the U.S. does. Additionally, not all states in the USA support it. Arizona, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, U.S. Virgin Islands and American Samoa do not.

Daylight Saving Time will return on March 8, 2015.